A job is a job

Alright, so it’s been a little bit since I posted to the blog here, and I’m going to try to resolve that.  This post is actually pointed, however, but I’ll update you, world, on what’s been going on with me in the past month or so.

I had a discussion with my mother over the holidays about careers and jobs. I like taking on new stuff and not staying in one company for too long.  I get antsy, I want to see what else I can do and where else I can live. I plan to live in Europe for at least two years at some point, and to do that I’d like to either be livin’ on book money or be hired on as a consultant somewhere for a fixed-term project.

Anyway, here’s an article that’s about the new economy and how it’s best to be a Jill of all trades and be above all things adaptable. I think that’s something people of my folks’ generation didn’t have to worry about. It was one job, thirty years, done with working. Never had to re-train ones brain completely.  And frankly, it’s the retraining that gets me through the days. I like having two part-time jobs better than one fulltime one. My brain gets some exercise.

Promise, promise since I actually have a weekend to myself, will update on the life unexpected. There will also be a recurring segment called “The Black Girl in the Room” which will be open letters and links to stuff that pisses me off or I feel like speaking on. I also hope to find someone funny enough to podcast with. We’ll have to see on that one.

About ckstackhouse

Author of suspense books, creative consultant, blogger on culture and publishing. www.stackhousebooks.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

