1776 (Revolution)

This weekend I went to the closing show of the play 1776, performed at Ford’s Theater in DC. My sister and I used to watch the movie form of this musical when we were kids, though I grasped the nuance a lot better this time around. Watching it I realized how much America is definitely my kind of country, and I’m glad to be a part of it. Granted, today there’s bureaucracy and wrong-ass-headedness here (1776 made clear both existed then as well), but the foundation of revolution and personal freedom I’m all for. Probably some of the same reasons I really like punk music. I’d like to wake some of that revolution back up in the area of basic rights (gay people can’t marry here? What??). Occupy is trying its best, but it may be a reality of the modern age that revolution will always be an underground event until its blood is literally spilled on the floor of congress/parliament/… And even then, as seen in the Arab Spring, it may not have legs to stand on without a legitimate people-run government body ready and waiting to back it up. Perhaps, then, it was quite fortuitous the US already had an established and one(ish)-minded congress from which to grow.
Soapbox aside, my sister managed to make it into town, stay at my parents’ house and go with my mom and I to the play. Ford’s Theater is tiny. It’s still the size it was when Lincoln was shot — they didn’t revamp it or anything. We were in the balcony but the actors still felt very close. If you’ve never watched this musical, it’s delightful even though it’s about political jostling in congress (of the 13 colonies) to either support or reject the fight for independence from England. Obviously, it ends with all colonies on board (or abstaining) and signing the Declaration of Independence. There was the addition of a musical number I don’t recall from the movie — about proper gentlemen always leaning to the conservative “right”, that seemed highly apropos for the current times. It rather well encapsulates the southern gentleman “charm” of the Louisiana, Georgia, Mississippi etc.blue-blooded and moneyed elite to this day. Maybe we can flotilla their asses back to England.

Man. That soapbox is hard to kick out from under a person, isn’t it? So. Play, good. My sister brought along her kiddo, my niece. She’s almost two now and super cute and has begun to string short sentences together, indicate possession (beyond “mine” that is) and recognize people from afar or by picture. She’s quite polite as well. She studies things still, and imitates things people say without knowing what they mean, and she also babbles along not saying anything in particular. This is probably the most interactive she’s been and … I found I missed her when I had to leave.

However, even in awe of that little sprite’s ceeeeeyuuuutest age-stage, I staunchly decided I’m never having kids. Way too much work, require too much attention, and they rely way too much on you. I don’t want any of those things in any aspect of my life. I require a lot, a LOT of independence, and I felt like saying so aloud, which is as to be expected after watching 1776.

My sister posited I am almost too independent (in reference to my resistance to dating anyone seriously or wanting to have a family). I don’t think her comment was judgmental at all, but I had some thoughts. First, there’s no such thing as too independent. Second, there sure the fuck ain’t no such thing (ignore the double negative) as too independent. Third, I’m tired of societal pressure to have kids. There are plenty of people on this planet and I think women who’re like “nah, I’m good” should be rewarded and not brow-beaten by society into thinking there’s something wrong with them. I’m thinking logically, y’all, not with my lady-hormones. A friend of mine suggested childless people should have non-baby showers where we get gifts for not bringing another resource-suck into the world. Though I suppose it could be argued that every day without having to pour all your money, time and attention into an investment that may never pan out is a party…and all those vacations we’ll have money to take, and the freedom to move wherever and whenever we want, the sights we’ll see that aren’t the back of the line at Disneyland…

So mommies, you’re not better than me. You just made different choices. It’s revolution up in this bitch, because for a long time I would always say, “oh maybe I’ll want kids someday,” like maybe the dude I’m with or my biological clock or something will change my mind. They likely won’t. I can’t say for sure, of course, because life is a roller-coaster if you’re lucky, but today, I’m saying the baby train ends here.

Revolution, I say! When I go to my first non-baby party, and perhaps after I coin a way better term for it, I’ll feel like the war’s been won. But all you non-kid-having ladies out there, hold your heads up. Nobody should tell you you’re wrong, least of all society and even less than that, your family. There are other ladies like you. We’re growing in number, though probably exponentially slower than those who’re into kids, and we’ll just have to figure a way to get our voices heard.

About ckstackhouse

Author of suspense books, creative consultant, blogger on culture and publishing. www.stackhousebooks.com
This entry was posted in The Epic Skeptic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1776 (Revolution)

  1. becklist says:

    Dude. Can I throw you a non-baby party???!!!! I’m so down.

Leave a Reply

