Brunch and Cafe St.-Ex

Recently I went to brunch.  Okay, now I know how that sounds. We brunch hard. We get up at 1 pm. Etc.  I’m not generally a brunch person, even though I LOVE breakfast food. Usually I feel too shitty in the mornings to eat much of anything, and even the awesomeness of buckwheat pancakes turns my stomach.  But after getting out of bed and going for a hike and coming home to drink some tea and soak up some down time, I’m all in for all things breakfast.  Usually by then, though, it’s time for lunch.

Thankfully, one glorious day every week there are establishments all over this great city (and greater-city area) who serve bountiful and delicious morning fare until  3 pm.  Last weekend, I visited Cafe Saint-Ex.

I’ve been to this place before, but never in the day time.  I’ve had their dinner and drinks but never their biscuits and gravy. Also, I’d never been able to really study their decor.  I believe I’ve sat outside more than in when visiting this place, and with the added benefit of daylight and the Cafe’s great corner location lending itself to many windows, I noticed the aviation theme for the first time. And that the Cafe was named after Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, known best for torturing me in French class with Le Petit Prince (The Little Prince).  The ceiling’s metal tiles reminded me of a great bar in Albany, California called the Hotsy Totsy, which worked in Cafe St.-Ex’s favor.

The place was busy, but not over-run, filled with usual, casual brunch folk.  It wasn’t until about 1 pm that the younger, hipper crowd started showing up, and there was a wait to sit. By then, though, I’d already eaten my biscuits, gravy, sausage, potatoes and eggs (what I could of them, anyway — the portion was hefty).  There’s a full bar, and I saw quite a few bloody mary’s and mimosas passed out around me.  My friend Halil and I stuck with tea and coffee and ate the sausage breakfast.  Halil finished his off tout suite, as he’d spent about an hour waiting for me because Metro is fucking terrible at what they do, and I ate as much as my little heart desired.  We thought it was delicious.  I could have done with a bit more biscuit and a bit less egg, but that’s my personal preference.

Okay, so…brunch.  It’s a thing I like.  No, uh, gosh, it’s been a while since I blogged.  What was that thing I used to say?  Oh yeah!

Brunch.  It’s what’s up.

About ckstackhouse

Author of suspense books, creative consultant, blogger on culture and publishing. www.stackhousebooks.com
This entry was posted in That's What's Up and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

